Academic journal

27 KC athletes honored for their academics | ETVarsity

KILGORE — Kilgore College has been accepted into the National College Athlete Honor Society as the Texas OXA Chapter of Theta Chi Alpha, which recognizes student-athletes from two-year institutions who excel both in the classroom and in competition.

This spring, 27 KC student-athletes were honored as Theta Chi Alpha members.

To be inducted into Theta Chi Alpha, a student-athlete must attend a two-year college that is a member of the NJCAA, CCCAA, FCSAA, or NWAC.

Recipients must also have completed at least three full-time semesters and must have achieved a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.4 (on a 4.0 scale) – while participating in their varsity sport.

The National College Athlete Honor Society, a registered 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization, was founded in 1996 by DePauw University head football coach Nick Mourouzis.

Its goal was to provide exceptional student-athletes the opportunity to connect within a fraternal fellowship that aligns their educational and athletic successes for life.

Courtney Jenkins, director of the Department of Kinesiology and Athletic Training, will serve as an advisor for the KC Chapter of Theta Chi Alpha.

KC will hold its first induction ceremony in September of the 2022 fall semester.

For more information or to start a chapter, visit

Spring Theta Chi Alpha inductees: Keith Wright Jr. (Football); Vincent Peters, Jr. (soccer); Derrick Jackson, Jr. (soccer); Kadarion Johnson (soccer); Tyler Trantham (soccer); Kolby King (soccer); Luke Grden (soccer); Roddrell “Zeek” Freeman (soccer); Chase Crumpton (soccer); Diego González (Football); Chimaobi Ezekwesilli (basketball); Malik Grant (Basketball); Isaac Hoberecht (Basketball); Da’Sean Nelson (Basketball); Paul Otieno (Basketball); Tobias Roland, Jr. (basketball); Daveon Thomas (basketball); Keshawn Williams (basketball); Vianey Galvan (women’s basketball); Mélissa Girondin (women’s basketball); Tara Green (women’s basketball); Rahmena Henderson (women’s basketball); Aailyah Hill (women’s basketball); Jada Hood (women’s basketball); Tara Kessner (women’s basketball); Maya Scheitel-Taylor (women’s basketball); Kelci Wilson (women’s basketball).