Academic journal

Achievements | Distinctions, nominations, publications for July 1st | Nebraska today

Recent achievements for the campus community have been won by Matthew Bentz, Christian Binek, Chris Calkins, Craig Chandler, Jiang Chen, Peter Dowben, David Hage, Ronald Lewis, Phillip Miller, Elizabeth Niehaus, Larkin Powell, Wei Qiao, Lauren Shaul , Bill Watts and Tian Zhang.


  • Matthew Benz, a senior IT support analyst for the Department of Special Education and Human Disorders, was named the most recent recipient of the Staff Star Award by the Staff Council of the College of Education and Human Sciences. The award recognizes employees who go above and beyond in their work.

  • Chris Callin, professor emeritus of animal sciences and Ronald Lewis, a professor of animal science, received a Fellow Awards for Research from the American Society of Animal Science at the society’s annual meeting and trade show in May. The award recognizes a member of society with distinguished service to the animal industry.

  • Craig Chandler, director of photography at University Communication and Marketing, won first place among “People and Portraits” in the University Photographers Association’s annual photo competition. The winning photo featured Engler Agribusiness Entrepreneurship student Shelby Kittle sporting a beard of live bees and holding a jar of her honey. The photo also won a monthly competition organized by the association and was featured in a blog.

  • Jiang Chen and Lauren Shaul, both interior design students at the College of Architecture, were named to the Metropolis Future 100 in April. Selected by a jury of magazine design experts, the award honors the top 50 interior design students and top 50 graduate architecture students in North America each spring.

  • The WE The Patent and Trademark Office recently granted a patent for digital circuits which incorporate magneto-electric transistors – energy-saving microelectronic components which have been developed in part by Peter DobenCharles Bessey Professor of Physics and Astronomy, and Christian Binek, professor of physics and astronomy. The team’s research was supported by the Semiconductor Research Corporation, the National Science Foundation, the National Institute of Standards and Technology, and the WE Department of Defense. Learn more about Dowben and Binek’s work.

  • David Hage, professor of chemistry at James Hewett University, received the Outstanding Contributions to Education in Clinical Chemistry award from the American Association for Clinical Chemistry. The award recognizes an individual who has devoted a significant portion of their professional life to enhancing the practice and profession of clinical chemistry through education.

  • Carrie Heitmanassociate professor in the School of Global Integrative Studies and associate director of the Center for Digital Research in the Humanities, has received a $310,000 grant from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation to support a new project to document the reconnection of Zuni peoples and Hopi with artifacts described in archaeological databases and housed in national museums.

  • Philip Miller, a professor of animal science, received the American Feed Industry Association Award from the American Society of Animal Science for research in non-ruminant nutrition. The award, presented at the association’s 2022 annual meeting and trade show, recognizes an individual who has contributed and published outstanding work over the past 10 years in the field. It is sponsored by the American Feed Industry Association.

  • Elisabeth Niehaus, an associate professor of educational administration, has been named a senior fellow at the National Center for Free Speech and Civic Engagement at the University of California. The selection marks the first time the center has bestowed the honor of Senior Fellow since it began appointing fellows in 2018-19. Niehaus will continue the research she began as a fellow in 2020 and 2021, exploring students’ moral reasoning on issues of free speech in the classroom, challenging the narrative of the crisis, and providing perspective. nuanced and evidence-based on how students navigate a challenging classroom. talks.

  • Larkin–Powell, professor of conservation biology and animal ecology, was made a Fellow of the Wildlife Society for 2022. The award recognizes current members of the society who have distinguished themselves by outstanding service to the professor of wildlife and have been members of the company for at least 10 years. Fellows, who are appointed for life, serve as ambassadors for the society and are encouraged to engage in outreach and other activities.

  • Wei Qiao, Clyde Hyde Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, has been named a Fellow of the Asia-Pacific Association for Artificial Intelligence. The association is a new non-profit, non-governmental organization formed by scholars from around the world who research artificial intelligence or a related field. The association currently has 583 scholarship holders.

  • Bill WattsAssociate Dean for Undergraduate Education and Student Success, awarded the 2022 award NACADA Outstanding Advising Award (administrator category). Presented by the National Academic Advising Association, the Outstanding Advising Awards annually honor those who have demonstrated outstanding advising to students or leadership as an administrator. Watts will be honored at the NACADA conference in the fall.

  • Tian Zhang, a professor of civil and environmental engineering, was named a Distinguished Fellow of the American Society of Civil Engineers. Zhang was selected for his exemplary career as a teacher and researcher, particularly for his work developing innovative technologies in water/wastewater treatment and pollution control. The award, the company’s highest honor, will be presented Oct. 24 at a convention in Anaheim, Calif.

This column is a regular feature of Nebraska Today. Faculty, staff, and students can submit achievements to be considered for this column by emailing [email protected] For more information, call 402-472-8515.